LGBTQA Student Resource Center awards those who contribute to the community

UNIVERSITY PARK Pa. — The LGBTQA Student Resource Center offers multiple scholarships and awards to Penn State students and faculty who are interested in and have shown a commitment to the Penn State LGBTQ+ community. On April 12, the center presented its scholarship and award recipients for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Further information on the scholarships and awards along with their requirements can be found on the LGBTQA Student Resource Center’s website.

Community Recognition and Contribution Awards

Academic Achievement Award

  • Hilary Malatino is an assistant professor in women’s gender and sexuality studies and is a faculty member of the Rock Ethics Institute at Penn State’s University Park campus. Malatino’s dedication to the LGBTQ+ community is shown through their work, including their recent lecture at Appalachian State, where they presented they work on intersex identity and activism and their trip to the South Eastern Women’s Studies Association Conference in Mississippi, where they wrapped up a four-year term as the LGBT Caucus chair.
  • Jessica Matsick is a faculty member at the Penn State University Park campus and is an assistant professor of psychology and women’s, gender and sexuality studies. One of Matsick’s nominators said, “In every aspect of Jes’ academic career, Jes has prioritized the lives and health of LGBTQ+ people, including the classroom, community and in Jes' own life,” adding that Matsick's commitment is seen through their research, teaching and service. 

Allison Subasic Community Builder Award

  • Alex Rupp is a first-year student in the College of Arts and Architecture and has been a marketing and graphic design intern with the LGBTQA Student Resource Center since the fall of 2018. Rupp's nominator said, “Alex has always been a reliable, creative, and extremely helpful addition to the team at the center. His artistic ability and creative eye are unmatched. He is a positive role model and influence on the other interns that are on staff at the center.”

Dr. Susan R. Rankin Award

  • Robert Gavin is a Dickinson Law student and has made significant contributions to Penn State and the LGBTQA community. According to his nominator, “Robert has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and steadfast integrity.” Gavin has worked to register the Penn State chapter of OUTlaw with the national organization to better connect Penn State with other LGBTQ+ law school organizations across the country.
  • Lindsay Palmer is a peer mentor and serves as the discussion leader of BiLions, a discussion group for bisexual, fluid identities and pansexual students. Palmer has pursued both personal and professional commitments in improving the climate for diversity and inclusion for the LGBTQ+ community at the University Park campus.

OUTstanding Service Award:

  • Megan Mac Gregor is a faulty member at the Penn State Wilkes-Barre campus who has been instrumental with the campus’ LGBTQ+ community. Mac Gregor has coordinated events helping bring people together and is also the co-chair of the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA). This past year, Mac Gregor led the movement of providing all gender restrooms on campus.  

Academic Scholarships:

Barry H. Marshal Undergraduate Scholarship

  • Derrick Peña — biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Jameke Lamar Spencer — criminology

Bruce R. Miller and Dean LaVigne Trustee Scholarship

  • DeAndre Malcolm — public relations major and Spanish minor
  • Nysia L. Miles — veterinary and biomedical sciences

Henderson and Marshall Military Scholarship

  • Olivia Rae Richart — agricultural sciences

LGBTA Alumni Interest Group Award

  • Eric Layland — doctoral candidate in health and human development and family studies

Marc David Foundation Award

  • Ryley Lehew — pre-veterinary and biomedical sciences and a minor in photography

Masel-McClin LGBTQA Scholarship

  • Ryan Zachary Neff — civil engineering

Richard La Mar Schlegel Scholarship

  • Ryan Castillo — psychology
  • Wynne Beck — biochemistry and molecular biology

Steve Artz and Tom Strickler Arts and Architecture Scholarship

  • Kaitlyn Whitesell — bachelor of fine arts in acting

Tom Strickler and Steve Artz Engineering Scholarship

  • Ouniol Aklilu — biomedical engineering major and a minor in mathematics