Wilkes-Barre SGA honors students, faculty member with annual campus awards

LEHMAN, Pa. — On April 27, Penn State Wilkes-Barre celebrated the Leadership and Athletics Awards Ceremony presented by the Penn State Wilkes-Barre Student Government Association. During this ceremony, annual campus awards are presented in addition to the ceremonial passing of the gavel between the outgoing and incoming SGA president.

The Edward H. Kaminski Memorial Scholarship Award: This award was established by Betsy Hughes in memory of her late husband, who graduated from the Wilkes-Barre campus in 1974. This award is presented to a Penn State Wilkes-Barre student-athlete, by Student Affairs based on academics, campus and athletic participation, and positive qualities of leadership and character.

  • Kerry Meyers

The John R. Murphy Award for Excellence in Leadership and Service: Rick Barry, a former Penn State Wilkes-Barre student and Walker Award recipient, made this endowed award possible to honor former Director of Student Affairs John R. Murphy, who served Penn State Wilkes-Barre from 1967 to 2004. The award was established to recognize a graduating senior whose outstanding qualities of leadership, service, scholarship, citizenship and character have been directed into programs and service on campus and/or the community that have positively influenced fellow students and have contributed to the prestige and well-being of the Wilkes-Barre campus and the reputation of the University as a whole.

  • Vincent Munro

The Martin U. Dougherty Emerging Leader Award: The Dougherty family established this award in remembrance of their husband/father, Martin, who served on our advisory board; his firm, The Architectural & Engineering Group Inc., designed the Carriage Room in the campus' Student Commons, which won the 2003 “Pride of Place” Award from the Greater Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Commerce. This award recognizes a student of junior status at the campus who has at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA and has demonstrated excellence in scholarship, leadership, citizenship, service and character.

  • Matthew Caines

The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award: The purpose of this award is to recognize the Commonwealth Campus student whose outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship have been directed into programs and services that have positively influenced fellow students and have contributed to the prestige and well-being of their campus and, hence, to the reputation of the University as a whole. The award is made annually, at or near the end of the spring term, to a full-time undergraduate student who is completing two full years of freshman-sophomore study at a Commonwealth Campus.

  • Susan Huey

The Hayfield Award: The faculty member selected for this award is designated by the Student Government Association as the outstanding instructor for the academic year. The award is based on a combination of teaching excellence and contribution to the general welfare of students at Penn State Wilkes-Barre.

  • Rick Dierenfeldt

The Outstanding Club Award: Members of the student body, the Student Government Association, and Student Affairs select the Outstanding Club Award. This award recognizes the student organization that has done exceptional campus and community service, has represented the campus to the best of its ability, and has had the greatest positive impact on co-curricular life of students at Penn State Wilkes-Barre.

  • Students For Justice

The Outstanding Student Government Association Member of the Year Award: Penn State Wilkes-Barre's 2000-01 Student Government Association established the Outstanding SGA Member of the Year Award to honor one of its members. Nominations are made by the executive board committee. The nominees had to be an active senator, club representative, or executive board member of the SGA. The Outstanding SGA Member of the Year is chosen for his/her sincere dedication, devotion and overall excellence toward his/her position as a senator, club representative or executive board member, and as Penn State Wilkes-Barre Student.

  • Ashlee Harry
  • Jesse Macko

The Lions Pride Award: This award was presented for the first time at the 1990 Leadership Dinner. The award will honor a member or members of the campus community, faculty, staff, and/or student(s) who have consistently worked to improve the quality of student life at Penn State Wilkes-Barre, through their encouragement and coordination of and participation in co- and extra-curricular programming and events.

  • Aashray Anand

Photos from the event can be found online at https://www.flickr.com/photos/pennstatewilkesbarre.